The new PlayStation Plus subscription starts in June with three tiers

PlayStation officially has revealed the next generation of PlayStation Plus, and for newcomers things get a little more complicated. As expected, the relaunch of the PlayStation subscription service will combine the benefits of PS Plus and PlayStation Now, and the top tier will offer some of the same features available in Xbox Game Pass. When the subscription launches in June, it will be available in three separate tiers: PlayStation Plus, PlayStation Plus Extra, and PlayStation Plus Premium. The premium subscription includes up to 700 games.

The standard PS Plus subscription will be renamed to PlayStation Plus Essential. Despite the new name, they are functionally the same services. PS Plus Essential costs $60 per year and offers the same benefits, including monthly free games, cloud storage, online multiplayer, and discounts on select sales.

PlayStation Plus Extra costs $15 per month or $100 per year and offers up to 400 PS4 and PS5 games. Sony’s description of the extra tier is a little vague, but subscribers can download the games in the library onto their console to play. It will feature both first-party and third-party games. Given the number of games in this tier, it sounds pretty much like a combination of PlayStation Plus and PlayStation Now that will be discontinued in June. Current PlayStation Now subscribers will convert to PS Plus Extra subscribers at launch.

The dearest of the bunch PlayStation Plus Premium, offers “up to 340 extra games” over the Extra tier. PlayStation Plus Premium costs $18 per month or $120 per year. The premium tier’s additional games appear to be largely centered around the PlayStation back catalogue, with original PlayStation, PS2, PS3 and PSP games available to play. PS3 games will be blocked for cloud streaming, but at least some of the other backward compatible classics will be downloadable.

The premium tier comes with a few other perks, including time-limited game trials and cloud streaming on PC. All three subscription tiers will be available on PS5 and PS4, although PS5 users will get access to more games.

PlayStation has confirmed a handful of PS5 and PS4 games that will be available to Extra and Premium subscribers at launch:

  • death stranding
  • God of War
  • Marvel’s Spider-Man
  • Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales
  • Mortal Kombat 11
  • Return (PS5 Exclusive)

PlayStation Plus Extra and Premium will be available in Asia first, but it sounds like North American and European users could also subscribe in June. If you live in a region that doesn’t support cloud streaming for PlayStation, you have the option to subscribe to PlayStation Plus Deluxe at a lower price. Pricing details for the United States, Europe, United Kingdom, and Japan are below.

PlayStation Plus Essential

  • United States – $10/month | $15/quarter | $60/year
  • Europe – €9/month | €25/quarter | €60/year
  • United Kingdom – £7/month | £20/quarter | £50/year
  • Japan – ¥850/month | ¥2,150/quarter | ¥5,143/year

PlayStation Plus Extra

  • United States – $15/month | $40/quarter | $100/year
  • Europe – €14/month | €40/quarter | €100/year
  • United Kingdom – £11/month | £32/quarter | £84/year
  • Japan – ¥1,300/month | ¥3,600/quarter | ¥8,600/year

PlayStation Plus Premium

  • United States – $18/month | $50/quarter | $120/year
  • Europe – €17/month | €50/quarter | €120/year
  • United Kingdom – £13.49/month | £40/quarter | £100/year
  • Japan – ¥1,550/month | ¥4,300/quarter | ¥10,250/year

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.